A 31 year old gal trying to figure out what to do,how to do it, and how to stay sane in life.
Friday, February 21, 2014
No one wins, no one loses
Thursday, February 20, 2014
Vacation
In the past three years of stepmother hood, I have lost my job 3 times, and because of this, I have only gotten one week vacation per year instead of the usual two since I have always been starting over. Since we get the kids for one week in the summer, I’ve taken my week then. This means that between jobs, the kids, and the custody battle, I have gotten exactly zero true vacation days in the past three years.
This realization stemmed from the fact that I have been a little too eagerly looking forward to my BF going away this weekend. He’s the one going on a trip, but I am more excited than him. I will have about 50 hours all to myself, no kids, no BF, just me and the cats. I plan to make them count. I know most people are thinking “hey, that’s life with kids, there is no vacation” and I understand that point of view, but my reality is that I live alone for over 10 years before my BF moved in, and I loved it. I work as a receptionist, my job is to be social, so when I get home, I like the quiet, and I miss the quiet.
All of this made me think of an episode of Sex and the City, where they talk about their secret single behaviours, for some people it could be peanut butter on saltines while reading vogue, for me it’s reading a good book, or sleeping in. I just need to be accountable only to myself for a little while. I will probably clean or organize a closet or something, but the point is that I will do it because I want to, not because I have to, or someone needs me to. I guess you could say I need to be selfish for a couple of days to recharge.
Don’t get me wrong, I love my BF and step kids more than I thought possible, and I don’t begrudge the attention they need, but lately I have just been feeling so empty, more apathetic than I usually am, and I know it’s just that I need to take care of me.
So this weekend, I am going to sit in my living room, close my eyes, and listen to the quiet.
Wednesday, December 4, 2013
Stepmommy issues
Saturday, November 23, 2013
Today is the day
There have been so many little moments that I felt like I was really becoming a parent, but I think today it really hit me. Today I realized that I was a parent, no matter what happens in the future, even if one day I am not with my BF anymore, my life and my perspective is forever changed.
I can say with absolute certainty, that the past two weeks have been the hardest of my entire life. From someone with a past of abuse and suicide attempts, that is saying a lot. In the past two weeks, my BF went to court to fight for his kids, then we had the maddening waiting, then I got fired. I have no job, and I have no idea what my life will look like tomorrow let alone next week.
More than once, I have sat and thought of myself ''why haven't I cracked?''. Far less pressure has pushed me over the edge in the past.
Last night, we had a hard decision to make, in a very delicate situation, with a lot on the line. One false move and the effects on our family could be irreparable. We have suspected for a while that something was happening to his youngest at their mom's, something that happened before and last night we got to a point where we had to act. We waited until the boys were asleep and bundled her up to go to the emergency room. My sister in law came over with her baby and sat with the sleeping boys.
We waited for the social workers, and her mom was called, I went home to wait and see. That is the most maddening part, the fact that in the most serious situations, I can do nothing, I just have to wait and trust that everything will work out. When they came back from the hospital, my SD came and snuggle in next to me in our bed and fell immediately asleep.
Later in the wee hours of the morning, their mom finally got her message and came over upset and my BF explained everything, well more like he angrily told her. I said that everyone should just calm down and that she should come back the next day. She left, and we attempted to sleep. I went to bed thinking to myself, ''this is it, I'm gonna wake up and I'm not gonna be able to get out of bed''. I don't know how I managed to fall asleep.
I woke up, got out of bed, and took care of the kids. I made lunch and waited with my BF for the kids' mom to come over. When she got here with her best friend the three of them went to talk to my SD. When they came out, they were visibly shaken. My SD told her mom what happened, and she looked terrible. I told her that we will make it through this, and that we will put aside all of our differences and do what is right for the kids. She thanked me and the three of them left for the police station to file the report.
After they left, I called a friend, and fellow step mom, to talk. I told her how I don't know how I am dealing with this, and then it hit me. I am dealing with this because I no longer have a choice. I thought about the last time when I stopped myself before an attempt, it was the first time I asked for help, and it was because I had my family here, I thought about them, I had a responsibility to them.
This time I think something inside me realized that I can't even allow myself to get to that point, this time I have a spouse and kids. I am more scared than ever before, I have more to lose than ever before, and apparently I am stronger than ever before.
Today I understand what it means to truly be a parent and put your family first.
Monday, November 11, 2013
Waiting
Thursday, August 8, 2013
Brave
Monday, June 3, 2013
Morning surprises
1-Arguing with someone about the necessity of wearing pants - "Yes you have to wear pants, but you can take them off when we get to your aunt's house if you want."
2-Convincing someone to change their underwear - "I don't care how you do things at your mom's, here we change our underwear every day"
3-Make lunches for someone other than myself.
4-Eagerly waiting for the kids to go to bed so we can watch our grown up movie
5-Getting ready with other people around - My BF has usually left for work by the time I wake up, so I am usually alone in the morning.
6-Getting fully dressed immediatly upon waking up - I usually get hair/makeup done in my underwear, see point 5
7-Smiling in the morning - I am not a morning person, and it usually takes me a while to feel human, see point 5
8-Saying, honestly and without a hint of sarcasm, "Yes honey, I'm very proud of you for not pooping in the bathtub, I'll be sure to tell mommy, she'll be so happy"
Thursday, April 25, 2013
A year ago
Tuesday, April 9, 2013
A love story the makes me happy.
Inspired by Mama Kat’s pretty much world famous writing prompts - A love story the makes you happy
Tuesday, March 26, 2013
How I met his kids
Tuesday, February 19, 2013
Conspiracy theories...part two
Monday, February 18, 2013
Conspiracy theories
Wednesday, January 30, 2013
5 Random facts about us
Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Demands
Friday, January 11, 2013
Duelling Mother's in Law - Part Two
Part One